Honours to design giants

Design is beyond aesthetics, and it presents an attitude, innovative thinking and creative confidence by the designers. The DFA Awards underpins the roles of designers in society and to celebrate design leadership and exemplary design in Asia. As the highest honour and recognition to design leaders, the DFA Lifetime Achievement Award 2017 is conferred to the international acclaimed fashion designer Yohji Yamamoto, while the DFA Design Leadership Award 2017 goes to the influential hospitality leader Adrian Zecha, and the communication design giant Alan Chan is honoured with the DFA World’s Outstanding Chinese Designer 2017.

“Now it is time from Asia, by Asia, for Asia. We are going to create a very special influence to the world. With you, together.” - Yohji Yamamoto

 For 45 years, Yamamoto has been working in the fashion industry. Renowned for his avant-garde style, his unique designs have graced international runways since his debut in Tokyo in 1977. He presented his first collection in Paris in 1981. In 2002, he was appointed as the creative director for Y-3.

  “My hope is that we have inspired and motivated others to set new benchmarks in building future hotels and resorts.” - Adrian  Zecha

As the founder of world famous Amanresorts, and in a career spanning more than 45 years, Adrian Zecha has founded a series of hotel management companies and conceived and developed more than one hundred hotels. He is recognised globally as one of the foremost visionaries within the hospitality industry.

  “I am thankful for this city where I grew up, that enables a culture nourishment of a mix of from East and West like nowhere else in the world.” - Alan Chan

Alan Chan started his career in the advertising industry as design apprentice in 1970, before starting his own company in 1980. As a designer, brand consultant and artist, Chan initiated ‘Oriental Passion Western Harmony’ design philosophy which has been well-recognised and has had a major influence on younger generations of designers.

Yohji Yamamoto

Adrian  Zecha

Alan Chan